If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!
http://www.prunderground.com/00237/record-11-million-usd-paid-for-three-word-domain/
This press release claims that the three-word domain GamblingForumOnline.com was sold for $1.1 million in stock and cash. Now, I don’t know what you’re thinking, but this doesn’t sound very legit to me.
First, who would ever pay $1.1M for such a domain name? Second, the domain was registered in June 2007. Third, there are lots of substitutes and probably even some comparable domains still available for registration. Fourth, the alleged buyer BestOCG.com doesn’t seem to have been in business for a long time, either. The domain BestOCG.com was registered in 2006 and, on top of that, the website sure doesn’t look like the site of a million-dollar business: It’s a mini-site full of casino affiliate links.
As always, press releases have to be taken with a grain of salt.
What are your thoughts on this sale?




Maybe I’m wrong, but seems a strategy for link baiting
http://www.jimwestergren.com/link-bait/
yeah most likely linkbaiting.
there is whois protection on the domain, so whois history doesn’t reveal much.
I think this was done to get PR, if it’s not a genuine sale.
Thanks for your comments. I totally agree with you. It’s a badly executed PR stunt. If you want people to believe that you sold a domain or if you want to build credibility, why mention such an unrealistic figure?
Well, they sure got their links as well as some free mentions on domain forums and blogs.
Oh, and the domain is still for sale at Sedo for $10,000. Just in case anybody is interested…